South of Tonight

Sporadic murmurs and other pomegranates from a one-way street

Several of my online friends have mentioned suffering from sinus and/or allergy discomfort. I have suggested they use a neti pot…

Several of my online friends have mentioned suffering from sinus and/or allergy discomfort. I have suggested they use a neti pot. What is a neti pot? How does it work? Please see attached article. (Do Neti Pots Really Work? http://ow.ly/1wgzF.) I have been putting off commenting on the neti pot but now that it is becoming more main stream I will spout forth. Long ago I witnessed my great grandmother irrigating her nasal cavities with a bulb and it freaked me out. What was she doing? To the future. I have suffered “hay fever” for years. Three years ago I started popping a generic 10mg Loratadine every day, dreading adding an unnecessary pharmaceutical concoction to my body. With the coaxing of my son and daughter-in-law, a year ago I reluctantly tried a neti pot. After several days I became used to the sensation and now use it every night. I have not taken a Loratadine since. If I do wake up sneezing or stuffy (rarely), I neti pot again. One may overcome allergies by living in an area over a period of time. Either I have grown accustomed to the endemic pollens, etc. or the neti pot really works for me. This is the neti pot I use. (NeilMed Pharmaceuticals http://ow.ly/1wfwn.) It is plastic so it won’t break when dropped. Once the provided saline solution was used up I began using about a half teaspoon of Kosher salt per pot. If you are a swimmer, the sensation should not be any thing at all. Most of it is psychological. I hope this first-hand account helps those out there that haven’t tried a neti pot.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

oceanbites

The latest oceanography literature, explained

deadliftergirl

little by little, one travels far

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

Lorna Phone

visual essays for a digital world

Sporadic murmurs and other pomegranates from a one-way street

A painting a day

A daily painting provided to you from Shanti Marie's South Carolina studio

Blah Blah Blog

You'll thank me later

